Pros and Cons

Clara pushed the door open just enough to allow herself into the room. The floor creaked as she sauntered into the kitchen and put the grocery bags on the kitchen table.

“Thomas!” she yelled, peaking through the open doorway to the living room.

“What?” Thomas asked, moving into the doorway.

“Are you ready to work on dinner?” Clara asked as she began emptying the grocery bags onto the table.

“Clara, I told you I needed a little while to process this.”

“You’re not going to get more used to the idea if we don’t talk to each other.” Clara said as she threw a can of beans at him.

“I need space to think about it. This is new territory for me and I’m not really clear on what I’m doing.”

“Well, you could always ask for advice. There are plenty of people that have gone before you.”

“Clara, this isn’t something you can just brush off! I told you I needed space.”

“Thomas,” She said, turning to face him, “you don’t need space. You need to make a decision.”

“Well, I’m not ready to make this decision.”

“Well, what do you need to do to get ready? Because I’m waiting for your decision.”

“I was going to make a pros and cons list and think about all the–”

“Oh my God, Thomas! A pros and cons list? Is this so difficult for you?”

He sighed, she had never been good at empathizing with him. That was one of the cons. “Look, Clara, I’m just not much of a relationship person. I like my space.”

Clara sat down at the table, her expression had changed to one of exhaustion. “Let’s make a pros and cons list, then.”

“Clara, I’m really not feeling like doing this tonight.”

Her eyes were pleading, “Please. Can we please just do this.”

“Fine, Clara. Pro: I’ll finally be in a relationship like a normal human being.”

“Con: You’ll have to actually pay attention to the other normal human being.”

“Pro: I’ll finally have someone to take with me to all the formal events I attend.”

“Con: You’ll always have to invite me.”

“Pro: I’ll have someone to bring me soup when I don’t feel good.”

“Con: You’ll have to take someone soup when they don’t feel good.”

“Pro: You’ll be happy.”

“Con: Your friends will get even less of your time.”

“Pro: I won’t be alone.”

“Con: You won’t be alone.”

“Clara, I’m really too tired for this. Can I just call you tomorrow?”

Clara stood up from the table, “I don’t think you need to Thomas. When you’re ready call me. I won’t push you anymore.”

She strode toward the door, feeling his eyes on her back. “You can keep the food.” She said as she pulled the door behind her.

He listened as her car started up and she was gone. He sat down at the table and placed his head in his hands. He didn’t know if she understood the kind of turmoil he was going through. He had been alone for so long now he didn’t know if he could figure out how to not be alone.

2 thoughts on “Pros and Cons

  1. I really enjoyed reading the conversation. The message was loud and clear. You really didn’t have to include the words ‘pro’ and ‘con’ so often in the latter part of the conversation……… it flowed very nicely but I think it would have flowed just as nicely without them. Just my personal opinion. Thanks so much for sharing.
    Harry

Leave a Reply

