She Goes on a Hike

This weekend I went on an adventure. It wasn’t anything huge, in fact I wasn’t an hour away from my house, but it was lovely. My aunt, uncle, little sister, and I decided to go for a hike. At the beginning of our hike I was all in and totally excited. Then we kept walking at a very steep incline. Forever.

I’m not a very in-shape person so it was a little rough on the way up. I turned bright red and I thought I was going to sweat out all the water in my body. To add insult to injury it was extremely humid and hot. More than once I thought about sitting down and waiting for everyone else to come back down. Fortunately for me I have my pride and it forced me to keep going up.

Once we got to the top of the mountain I was so happy I had made it. I was happy because I don’t think I’ve could’ve walked any further and it was absolutely gorgeous up there! I felt like I was in a whole other world. It’s been a long time since I’ve felt so very alive.

I’d forgotten how much fun being outside could be and what a beautiful place I lived in. I look forward to going on many more adventures like this one before the summer is over. Being out in the mountains is like nothing else. They remind you how big the world really is and how much exploring there is left to do.

Leave a Reply

